Artman Talks

Exploring the currents of modern China

Luxury, Brands, and Consumer Behavior with Paul French

Recorded on February 4, 2012

Google gives quite a few definition of brands and I’ll give you a few:

  1. A type of product manufactured by a particular company under a particular name
    • – a new brand of detergent
  2. A brandname
    • – the company will market computer software under its own brand
  3. An identifying mark burned on livestock or (esp. formerly) criminals or slaves with a branding iron

My choice here is deliberate.  When people make a purchase or choose to wear/use something, they arebranding or marking themselves with a company’s brand or mark. By doing so, they identify themselves to be part of a group, define themselves to observers, and declare their place in the world.

This is no less true (if not more so) here in China.  To find out more about the amazing growth of luxury brands, as well as Chinese people’s penchant for what some would call extravagant purchases, I spoke with Paul French, a man of many talents.

I’ve spoken with Paul before, more than year ago, about the coming obesity epidemic.  This time around we enlist his consumer research knowledge to talk about luxury brands in China, differences in consumer behavior, and what makes some brands succeed.

On a personal note, every time I speak with Paul, I’m struck by how he manages to insult me (first time my use of the English language, this time my clothes) without causing any offense.  Not only does it not offend, but makes the entire interview much more enjoyable.  I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I did doing it.

Download or Stream Artman Talks 19 here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

